A time to slow down

“There is more to life than increasing its speed.”-Mahatma Gandhi

img_3064.jpg

I used to see the winter time as a negative aspect of living in a region with four seasons. While I was growing up, I used to crave the warmth and the smell of the palm trees. My skin craved the sunshine. I used to see the winter as a force that kept me from being on the go and living my life. This changed after I lived in Europe and learned the rituals and rhythms of the four seasons. Winter is a time to reflect, find introspection. Winter is a time to take a step back and look at ourselves and the life that we have built. Winter is a time to stay indoors and feel inspired by the cold air touching our faces. It’s a time to create and spend time with the ones you love doing absolutely nothing. It’s a time to regroup. It’s a time to slow down.

img_2957.jpg

Winter is a time for a different type of expression. Each season has its own beauty. We must find that and revel in it.

 

Leave a Reply

